Charles P. Mouton MD, MS, MBA-EVP and Dean, SOM

A Message from the Executive Vice President, Provost and Dean, School of Medicine

Oct 21, 2021, 15:58 PM by Cassi Boatwright

Kendall M. Campbell, MD PhotoPlease join me in congratulating Kendall M. Campbell, MD, FAAFP, on his election to the National Academy of Medicine! Dr. Campbell joined UTMB Oct. 15 as Professor and Chair in the Department of Family Medicine.

Election to the Academy is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service. New members are elected by current members through a process that recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care, and public health.

Prior to arriving at UTMB, Dr. Campbell was Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Chief Academic Officer, and Associate Professor of Family Medicine at East Carolina University Brody School of Medicine. His Academy membership honors his work in assessing academic and community factors impacting the development of a diverse medical workforce to further health equity, co-developing a Center for Underrepresented Minorities in Academic Medicine, and creating a research group for underrepresented minorities in academic medicine, presenting and publishing his findings regionally and nationally.

The National Academy of Medicine addresses critical issues in health, science, medicine, and related policy and inspires positive actions across sectors. NAM works alongside the National Academy of Sciences and National Academy of Engineering to provide independent, objective analysis and advice to the nation and conduct other activities to solve complex problems and inform public policy decisions. The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine also encourage education and research, recognize outstanding contributions to knowledge, and increase public understanding of STEMM. With their election, NAM members make a commitment to volunteer their service in National Academies activities.

We are elated to have Dr. Campbell on board and to share the news of this outstanding recognition. Congratulations, Dr. Campbell!

Sincerely yours,

Charles P. Mouton, MD, MS, MBA
Executive Vice President, Provost and Dean, School of Medicine
Thomas N. and Gleaves T. James Distinguished Chair