UTMB and Family Medicine Honor "Top Docs"

Oct 14, 2016, 16:59 PM by Julia Essex

On Saturday, October 8, 2016 the UTMB Health School of Medicine and the Area Health Education Center (AHEC) held a banquet and awarded 13 community-based physicians the 2016 UTMB Health Teachers of Distinction Award. Among the recipients were three family physicians who support students of the Department of Family Medicine: W. David Toronjo, MD, Bodo Brauer, MD, and Rogelio "Roger" Gonzalez, Jr, MD.

Faculty and staff with the 2016 Top Docs 

Each year the UTMB Health School of Medicine honors its community-based physicians at its Teachers of Distinction Awards Banquet. The Teachers of Distinction, or "Top Docs" as they are more commonly known, represent the large number of community-based physicians who devote time and effort to helping UTMB Health education the next generation of health care professionals.

Each of these three outstanding community-based physicians has been a long-time supporter of the Department of Family Medicine. Dr. Toronjo has been taking 2-3 clerkship students each year for more than 15 years. Dr. Brauer joined the faculty in 2008 and has also been a dedicated teacher. Dr. Gonzalez was a strong supporter of the clerkship, taking several students each year. Although he passed away earlier this year, his family attended and accepted the award on his behalf.

In addition to the honorees, the Department of Family Medicine was represented by Medical Student Education Director Victor Sierpina, MD, Family Medicine Clerkship Co-Director Jennifer Raley, MD, and Medical Student Education Program Manager Shannon Samuelson.