Interest Group Elects 2013-14 Officers

Apr 10, 2013, 15:23 PM by Julia Essex

Rachel Marinch, the current Co-President of the UTMB Health Family Medicine Interest Group (FMIG), has announced that the group has elected their 2013-2013 officers following an overwhelming application response. In the coming year they are welcoming returning officers as well as some new recruits. 

For the coming academic year, fourth-year medical students Carah Coyne Howe and Yolan Shaw will serve as Co-Presidents. In addition, the following will be serving:

Anthony Ng (MS2) as Vice President
Marcia Newby-Goodman (MS3) as Chair of Recruitment
Kathy (Tu Dan) Nguyen (MS4) as AAFP Conference Coordinator
Ngoc Mui (MS2) as PCP at the PCP Coordinator
Dimple Patel Desai (MS4) and Marissa Flores (MS3) as Community Service Co-Chairs
Kael Kuster (MS3) as Austin Representative
Esther Robbins (MS3) and Glenda Linares (MS3) as Third-Year Rep
Violetta Vasquez (MS2) and Rigoberto Garza (MS2) as Second-Year Representatives

The fourth-year representative election is still pending, and elections for a first-year representative will be held in September after the incoming class of first-year students begins their studies.

The Family Medicine Interest Group is an interest group for medical students at UTMB Health who are interested in Family Medicine. If you are interested in participating, please visit their page on Facebook for more information or contact the Department of Family Medicine Medical Student Education program.