Three UTMB Health Students Awarded TAFP Kolb Scholarship

May 22, 2012, 15:45 PM by Julia Essex

On May 1, 2012, three UTMB Health School of Medicine students were awarded the Weldon G. Kolb, M.D. Medical Student Scholarship at the May meeting of the Galveston County chapter of the Texas Academy of Family Physicians (TAFP). Amber Higgs (MS4), Geoffrey Moses (MS4), and Rachel Marinch (MS3) were each recipients of this scholarship in recognition of their outstanding achievement.

The Weldon G. Kolb, MD, Medical Student Scholarship was the first scholarship created by the TAFP Foundation twenty years ago. It was established to honor TAFP Past President Dr. Weldon G. Kolb who practiced in La Marque for over 45 years. Dr. Kolb was a graduate of UTMB Galveston and served as president of the Galveston County Medical Society. He was president of the TAFP Foundation for nine years. The scholarship is given to a medical student or students from UTMB Galveston who meet high academic standards and express an interest in pursuing a career in family medicine. There have been nine recipients of the Kolb scholarship prior to now and all of them are practicing family medicine or in family medicine residencies.

Please join us in congratulating Amber, Rachel and Geoffrey for their outstanding achievement.

Amber Higgs and Rachel Marinch, recipients of the 2012 Kolb Scholarship Geoffrey Moses