Family Medicine Chair Receives Prestigious AAFP Award

Aug 17, 2020, 15:43 PM by Cassi Boatwright

It is our pleasure to announce that Dr. Barbara L. Thompson, Chair of the UTMB Health Department of Family Medicine has been awarded the 2020 Thomas W. Johnson Award for Career Contributions to Family Medicine Education.  This award recognizes outstanding contributions to family medicine education in undergraduate, graduate, and continuing education spheres. This award is the highest honor presented by the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP).

Dr. Thompson has had a long and distinguished career as she has inspired countless family physicians and made valuable contributions to the family medicine academic mission.