"Ain't No Stoppin' Us Now"

Aug 6, 2020, 16:01 PM by Cassi Boatwright

"Ain't No Stoppin' Us Now" and "We are Family" may be songs from the 70's but they are also anthems we are singing to our Family Medicine Interest Group (FMIG) led by medical students at The University of Texas Medical Branch (UTMB) under the faculty direction of Jennifer Raley, MD and coordination of the Medical Student Education Program (MSEP) Manager, Shannon Samuelson.  

On Monday August 3, 2020 Dr. Raley and FMIG President Jake Brozek, MSIV were informed that they were chosen as a recipient of the 2020 American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) Program of Excellence Award as one of the top 10 family medicine interest groups in the country.  This award is the cherry on top after consecutive awards from both the AAFP and the Texas Academy of Family Physicians (TAFP) in recent years.  

The UTMB FMIG received the Family Medicine Interest Group Program of Excellence first place awards in both 2017 and 2019 and second place awards in both 2018 and 2020 from the TAFP.

They also received the Categorical Award for Operations and the Rising Superstar Award in 2019 from AAFP. 

We are so proud of our students and all that they have accomplished. They have dedicated their time and effort to raising awareness to the specialty of family medicine and providing education and resources to all medical students on campus and beyond.